It’s our Two-year Anniversary!

“In the end, we only regret the chances we didn’t take …”

My story

Celebrating Two Retail Years

Celebrating Two Retail Years

Over 18 years ago, at the tender age of 25, I developed the marketing plan for a tea shop while earning my MBA. Three children later, I completed my degree and continued my full-time career in higher education. Upon turning 40, I started to become discontent in my 20-year career. I decided to dust off that marketing plan and, with the help of my husband, created a full-blown business plan. I took one of the biggest gambles in my life and left my career to follow my dream of owning a tea shop. Many people thought I was crazy and I often hear(d), “I could never do what you did.”

Being a small-business owner is a great feat. Every day is a challenge in strength and perseverance. Oftentimes (and certainly in the case of A New Leaf), you wear many different hats. Not only are you the go-to person, you’re also the marketing executive, accountant, salesperson, IT technician, decorator, cleaner. But in my case, I’m also still a wife and a mother. Learning to balance all of it is very challenging and more difficult than running the day-to-day. I could never be where I am today without the help and support of my wonderful husband and three beautiful daughters. I look back at everyone that told me that they could never do what I did and hope they see that risk can pay off — but with the combination of hard work and a great support system.

Looking back on two years: sure, there are things I would have done differently, but learning is part of life. I encourage everyone: do something that scares you, and take those chances before you regret the fact that you didn’t take them at at all. Thank you to everyone who has made A New Leaf a success; even to the doubters: I couldn’t have done it without any of you.

 

Leave a Reply

